#IOweBora update: You people are amazing

I just wanted to send out a heartfelt “thank-you” to everyone who has, and continues, to donate to support The Blogfather, Bora Zivkovic, and his family.

As  you know, Bora left ScienceBlogs in the Pepsigate/sbfail “DiasBora” thereby giving up some income essential to his family for groceries and such.

Almost 100 of you lovely folks have come through with donations of whatever you can afford. But even more amazing is that some of you asked how you might support Bora on a continuous basis with monthly donations for his awesome blog content and others offered even more support after their July payday. Those recurrent donations started to come in last night.

I’ve tried to get personal thank-you e-mails to each and every one of you (but I may have missed a couple, so please let me know if I missed you). I’ve passed along to Bora most of the funds that have cleared my PayPal account – I’ll leave it to him to respond to you on- or offline.

In the meantime, go here if you wish to provide a few doubloons to the author of the best overview of the history and future science blogging networks.

The blogging community and readers never cease to amaze me with their generosity and genuine appreciation for what many of us do simply as a scientific outreach hobby.

I am deeply appreciative of how forcefully you have come out to help Bora and his family in a time of need.

Much love, Abel

2 comments

  1. Abel, thank you for this effort

  2. I go away and teach summer session and look what happens. Everyone moves. To my place. If I blogged anymore.

    Enjoy your new digs.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

